I think we lost a family…

in the West End.  

I decided to walk to the WEND meeting tonight and had to past their home. Normally, on a nice day like today I would see three-four beautiful brown toned little girls with sandy brown locks on the porch; they would wave, smile and say almost in unison “hi…where are your daughters? “

I remember our first meeting, one Monday mid morning and I was taking my girls to the Library. One of the girls screamed out “Are they (my girls) going to school?… “ To which I replied, “I home school”   Thinking they would not have a clue what that was. But what looked to be the eldest said,    “We homeschool too and we’re off on Monday’s”    I remember feeling a connection on that alone and had asked to speak with their mother.  We planned to get together very soon and do some joint work with the girls. (I mean, really- it’s surprising when you just bump into another homeschooling mom, especially one so close. I almost always have to join groups or search APS for associations that meet way out in Stockbridge or somewhere else I don’t want to drive to )

Anyway, today the house was empty and cold. The absence of life is actually what made me stop and exam the home.  No longer were the porch chairs out, or curtains in the windows- only newspaper taped to the windows, hiding the emptiness behind the door with a missing handle.  I jotted down the address making a mental note to search tax records praying I was wrong…. after all, they could be vacation..  the mother also home schools and would not be bound to being around until school is out at the end of May.

Well, what I thought is true. There is a sheriff notice on the tax records. *sigh*

My lesson- do not put off for tomorrow what you can (and should) do today. I missed an opportunity.  My girls did want to get to know them too..maybe our paths will cross again.

 

Author: niaknowles

From Native New Yorker (Brooklyn) to Atlanta Realtor, with a love for architecture and design. Atlanta based Real Estate Consultant working to restore and sell Intown Homes; REO,South West (Westside,West End, Westview Communities 30310,30311,30314,30318 zip codes)

Leave a Reply

